CurvyHK

Asian-chested is not an oxymoron

Perspectives: On how availability impacts bra-ly knowledge

I was (somehow) on the topic of bras or something with my friends in college early this year, and they both mentioned they were 20something D, or DD. My response: “I don’t think those exist!”. And when I later learned my proper bra size and ventured into bra-selling spaces, I was proven right–those bras really don’t exist. It’s hard enough to get a 32 that’s not an A or B, let alone 30 or 28 (a fully impossible mission in department stores). And if their 20somethings were 26, that’s hard to get even from online specialty shops overseas. Their ribcages are tiny; I would actually not be too surprised if they turned out to be 26s.

With a majority of women who don’t look into bra sizing, who don’t look past products hanging on department racks, who simply grab a pretty-looking bra in the vicinity of where they bought their last bra, how does the custom of offering only the same 6 bra bands at limited cups help women outside that tiny range reach the understanding that back sizes actually vary towards the smaller end of the spectrum as well, and that they often need to be there? This isn’t about stigmas of “D-cup is huge! Anything higher is from surgery!” or “You’re only sub-34 at puberty or at anorexic twig-form”. This is about how popular physical retailers don’t carry even a moderate range of sizes, and how that created a circumstance that blocked me from understanding my body and the things I put it in.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

