CurvyHK

Asian-chested is not an oxymoron

What I’ve Learned from a Proper Bra

1. It’s important (to have a proper bra), and American (and most other countries’) bra companies have generally terrible ranges of bra sizes.

2. It’s a really difficult topic to bring up. It originally was, but now that I’ve learned to spot bad bra-wearing, it’s become a topic that I know how to discuss. I can’t go up to someone, whether a stranger or a good friend, and say “your bra is all wrong”. !! What do I do?

3. Despite the potential for ultra-awkwardness, it’s still an area where almost everyone needs a re-education. See the my first Perspectives post for my story about my aunt. (This incident is what pushed me off the decision/procrastination fence.)

4. Lots of people have said I lost weight.
i. Reasons why I might look like I’ve lost weight:
a. Most of the people who’ve said this haven’t seen me in a long long time and have no point of comparison besides a vague impression of a short chubby Asian girl;
b. my good bras lift my chest away from my stomach and hold my bust up properly;
c. my migrated breast tissue is re-migrating to its proper places;
d. for the last few years, I’ve been preferring more form-fitting clothes because they feel like they’re actually on my body as opposed to around it;
e. I probably smile more than I used to; not that I was perpetually grumpy before.
ii. I actually don’t really want to lose weight… I’m very comfortable where I am, thank you. I already get blown around by heavy NY winter winds; I prefer being sturdy on my feet than being less fatty.

5. Despite not having lost weight, I fit into (and look better in) clothes that I thought I’d outgrown. There’s this top and skirt set that I’d bought in Thailand- it’s gorgeous but I’ve never been able to wear it. Although it was in my size, my bra band would ride up to my armpits (kind of sad that didn’t tip me off that anything was wrong with my bra…) and it is not the kind of top that a traveling bra band can pull off. Now that I can wear it, the dyes have bled and shifted so while it’s still beautiful, there are some pretty noticeable flaws 😦

6. I have been playing some Kinect games that required heavy jumping and scampering around the room; NO PAIN! It was glorious. I might even be comfortable running! More elaboration in a later post on how support-less bras made my PE experience throughout school even more horrible than it had to be (but a note that I must clarify first: I loved playing most sports, it was just that my lungs don’t agree, so it was not a distaste for physical movement that turned me off of that class.)

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “What I’ve Learned from a Proper Bra

  1. Thank you for writing this blog and all these posts! As a Chinese Singaporean in Singapore, I can completely understand and sympathize with everything that you write. Bras that come in smaller than a 32 band sizing are non-existent, and we have the same pushy sales associates who assure me repeatedly that size 34 is “fine, just try it on”. I do need to ask though, where do you buy your bras from? I’ve just bought some from figleaves.com, but shipping is killing me, especially since all the bras I bought don’t fit and I have to send it back now.

    • Thank you for reading! I buy my bras from ebay now, but when I was getting started with my true bra size, I went to two high-ish end bra boutiques (I was lucky to be in Manhattan for this) and Nordstrom Rack, which is a kind of after-season discount store of high-end leftovers. Shipping costs are definitely a moodkiller but there’s no real way around them. You can keep an eye out for shipping promotions, or (if you can afford to) buy several different styles in the sizes closest to your estimate with the intention of returning most of them (so that you don’t have as many back-and-forth shippings). Once you get the hang of the shape and style you need (bratabase.com can help with specific brands and bras) then shipping shouldn’t hurt as much.

      I don’t know what size you are, but http://www.largecuplingerie.com has free international shipping. I haven’t tried ordering from them before but you might want to take a look.

      Good luck, and keep me updated!

Leave a Reply

