CurvyHK

Asian-chested is not an oxymoron

Review: Parfait by Affinitas, Kimberly and Honey

Totsy

Remember that Totsy sale and how I wanted to try Affinitas despite their bands ending at 30? I went through with it, received the bras and have introduced them into my rotation.

So, I should really be a 28-only now but the Totsy sale put these gems up for about $18 each, which is even cheaper than typical cheap bras, and with free shipping (first purchase deal). It was a pretty low-risk gamble and I’m so glad I took it.

First Impressions

I got the package about a month after my order. My first reaction upon unwrapping the bras: “Oh dude these cups are HUGE.”

Then I tried them on: “Oh dude these cups FIT. What’s going on?”

And then… I caught a glance at one of the tags and was promptly struck speechless.

Affinitas

Affinitas is rumored to run one band size small and one cup size small, which is theoretically perfect for me because those are the exact dimensions and directions by which I size out of their range. However, I find that the bras are a bit more true to size. The 30 band is tighter than other 30 bands but is nowhere near a 28, and an ever-so-slightly larger cup would not be amiss. I’d say that my bras run about half a size out in those directions. The bra bands are okay for now, but they’ll stretch very quickly, and I expect (with a sad sad face) that they’ll be too loose sooner than usual. So at the moment, they’re both under special treatment in that I wear them as a deliberate pampering factor 🙂

The Honey and Kimberly have, to my delight, three hooks. They are also thickly lined (or lightly padded) and molded, which I didn’t realize I liked so much. They feel so soft and smooth, and they’re supportive without being scratchy, which is something that grumps me out about wearing unlined bras all the time.

Another thing I noticed, this time about both of these Affinitas bras; they’re squeaky! I haven’t found this problem with any other bras before, and it’s not so much loud and disruptive but startling and slightly annoying. Also, I’m a little sensitive to these raw *eeeeek*ish sounds (like scratching and styrofoam) so I pick up on these a bit more than other people might. I wonder why they’re squeaking at all.

Honey

This bra is a bit different from my recent preferences; I’ve realized that most of my bras are rather loud/dark colors. For some reason I’ve stayed away from muted and/or cute colors. Even for my Honey purchase I was hmming over the color, but I decided that I might as well splurge all the way through to the pastel color as well! Although now that I think about it, pastel colors seemed to be the only options. The only other color I remember is a pastel purple.

The one I bought is a really soft pink (soft but still having personality~) and it’s definitely my “cutest” color bra.

It has a nice thick lining (someday I will research and properly use the difference between lining and padding. Not today.) which I’ve really missed. The cups are totally comfortable and don’t show up at all under clothing.

The Honey is packaged with ruffled straps by default; that seems to be one of the highlighted features. However, I found the ruffles to be a little too thin and scratchy and rough for my taste. I would have preferred something thicker and softer and flowier. I’ve been wearing the bra with the alternate, ruffle-less straps that were provided.

(See the Affinitas general comment for band size comments.)

Here are some other opinions: Bratabase (only one review); one review on Amazon.com (sounds like I’m not the only one finding the default straps uncomfortable!); mixed reviews from Her Room customers; and a review of the babydoll version on Invest in Your Chest.

Kimberly

This bra may beat out the narue Princess in terms of my favorite bra, looks-wise. It looked great in pictures but is absolutely fantastic in (on?) person. I love how it looks so modern and classy. The stripes, the colors and design really work well together. Affinitas has someone genius in their midst.

The Kimberly came in two different styles: “Molded Padded Bra” (above) and “Balconet[te] Padded Bra” (below; seems to function also a strapless). Both colors were available in both styles, but the black one looks much sleeker and cooler to me. (This is where my mom scoffs at a bra-buying decision being made on account of how cool it looks.)

Regarding the past tense: The Kimberly is probably not being produced anymore. Its information is no longer accessible directly on the Affinitas website. If you found and followed my secret link in the preceding paragraph, you’ll notice that it’s in a directory named “_old”. So sad! I hope they put more products out along this trend.

(See the Affinitas general comment for band size comments.)

The dangling portrait (“cameo charm”) on the gore is pretty distinctive, but I honestly don’t notice or spaz over it as much as other reviewers.

Here are some other opinions: Bratabase page (they don’t seem to really like this); and Leah from Hourglassy (who actually tried both versions).

Verdict

Do I recommend Affinitas/Parfait by Affinitas? Absolutely, if you’re in their range! I vote that people wearing usual 28 bands won’t find the 30 tight enough, though. Best if you can try it on first, of course, since their sizing is under dispute by our population. Across the board they’re said to run tight and small; I’m finding them more true to size than not.

Stay tuned for yet another post about Affinitas; I wrote to them and received a reply from a representative, and would like to share my first experience with writing to a bra company!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Review: Parfait by Affinitas, Kimberly and Honey

  1. windiegardie on said:

    I think specifically the Charlotte bra by Parfait runs a full size small in the band (from what I’ve heard), but I haven’t had confirmation on whether other styles did or not. Glad to have more info! Thanks for the reviews 🙂

    • You’re right. Most of the reviews I found were about the Charlotte. I did read on other reviews that bands run smaller and cups smaller to some extent on other styles. I guess the Charlotte has the tightest band, then.

  2. As Windie says, it is the Charlotte that’s particularly tight in the band and small in the cup. Other styles seem to vary, some being tighter in the band, some smaller in the cup, but no others I’ve tried quite fit the same as the Charlotte. Regarding the Kimberley being discontinued, they may well sell a bra that is the same – I’ve noticed the constructions are very similar between some styles so they’re basically the same bra in different patterns.

    • katydid on said:

      I tried the Charlotte in my normal band size, but one cup size up after reading reviews. The band was loose and the cups were so big I wasn’t sure sizing down a cup size would work. Not sure if this was a general issue or just that mine was mislabelled. Bought the knickers one size bigger and that worked though.

    • That’s good to know–I wonder if the Charlotte would be a good fit for me, then! It’s the pattern of the Kimberly that I really love, though. Good to hear that Affinitas is staying with that construction, though, because it does work well.

  3. Kellie on said:

    This is the first bra blog I found with no self pics at all. I’m quite hesitant to trust your reviews as people tend to wear their bras wrongly. 😦

    • Thank you for your comment. I realize that providing pictures would raise the quality and reliability of my writing, but at this time, I’m not comfortable with uploading pictures of myself in my undergarments for all the Internet to see. That’s why I’ve been linking to other reviewers and resources that can elaborate more on fronts that I can’t. If you need to see how bras fit on real bodies, I recommend visiting those links and/or bratabase.com. I can only provide information and insight that’s expressible through prose, stock images and emoticons. 🙂

      As far as wearing bras wrongly, I’m grateful for your concern. However, I’m quite content in working out sizing for myself, and to be honest, pictures are generally unhelpful in finely identifying proper fits.

Leave a Reply

